John Fries Award 2014 - finalists announced

The 2014 John Fries Award finalists are: Abdul Abdullah, Justin Balmain, Ella Barclay, Tim Bruniges, Julian Day, Omar Chowdhury, George Egerton-Warburton, Marc Etherington, Hamishi Farah, Heath Franco, Samuel Hodge, Anna Horne, Juz Kitson, Anna Kristensen, Bridie Lunney, Daniel McKewen, Beryline Mung, Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran, Alair Pambegan, Kate Scardifield, Marilyn Schneider, Jacqui Shelton, Jason Wing and Kentaro Yamada.

The winner of the 5th John Fries Award will be announced at 7pm, Tuesday 12 August at the Finalists Exhibition,  Galleries UNSW, COFA in Paddington, Sydney.

Sebastian Goldspink (the 2014 JFA guest curator and judge), said “The calibre of entries for this year’s award set a new standard. I was surprised, delighted and slightly overwhelmed by the prospect of whittling down the record 546 entries to a shortlist of 88, and then, with my fellow judges, to the 24 finalists. There was a genuine sense of excitement in the judging room.”

The finalists come from all over Australia and New Zealand, and their work includes painting, sculpture, installation, video and a live performance work.

“The John Fries Award always delivers something unexpected,” says Goldspink. “The artists display extraordinary imagination and take risks and I know everyone will be keenly watching and waiting for this year’s exhibition at Galleries UNSW, COFA."
"It's a fantastic celebration of the strength and diversity of Australasian emerging art!”

The prize was established by the Fries family in memory of former Viscopy director and honorary treasurer, John Fries, who made a remarkable contribution to the life and success of the organisation.

Judges for the 2014 award are: Sebastian Goldspink, Alexie Glass-Kantor, Jess Olivieri, Kath Fries and Megan Cope. 
JFA 2014 sponsors include: International Art Services, 10 group, Little Creatures Brewery and Small Acres Cyder.