The 2013 John Fries Memorial Prize Finalists

Congratulations to the 2013 John Fries Memorial Prize Finalists: Lucas Abela, Aaron Anderson, Svetlana Bailey, Maureen Baker, Ella Barclay, Chris Bennie, Serena Bonson, Sarah Contos, Keg De Souza, John A Douglas, Sophia Egarchos, George Egerton-Warburton, Benjamin Forster, Dara Gill, Greedy Hen, Samuel Hodge, Simon MacEwan, Vincent Namatjira, Liam O’Brien, Jess Olivieri & Hayley Forward, Tom Polo and Bryden Williams.

2013 JFMP opening event invitation

2013 JFMP Finalists Exhibition:
Gaffa Galleries, 281 Clarence Street Sydney
24 August to 14 September 2013

Winner Annoucement: 7pm Tues 27 August
Artist Talks: Wed 28 August & Sat 14 September

The John Fries Memorial Prize for emerging and early career visual artists is a non-acquisitive award of $10,000. This annual prize is open to all artists resident in Australia and New Zealand who are not currently studying and whose work is not represented in the collection of an Australian state, territory or national public art gallery. The event is administered by Viscopy/Copyright Agency and the prize has been donated by the Fries family in memory of former Viscopy director and honorary treasurer, John Fries, who made a remarkable contribution to the life and success of Viscopy.

I would like to thank the guest curator Sebastian Goldspink, guest speaker Dr Gene Sherman, Viscopy/Copyright Agency, Gaffa Galleries, and Dr Daniel Mudie Cunningham, Felicity Fenner and Dr Sanné Mestrom for joining me on the judging panel.

To view the exhibition catalogue online please go to and you can follow the exhibition on facebook

...a few words I wrote for the 2013 JFMP exhibition catalogue